This is an OLD, ARCHIVED version of the COCIT site.         For the current site, click HERE
COCIT - Council on
Clinical Information Technology

The Byron B. Oberst Award
last updated on November 7, 2009

COCIT Home Page EMR Review Project Alphabet Soup COCIT Members Only AAP Home Page
    ** Change to Councils ** [pdf]
    E-Mail Lists / Networking
    Introductory Flyer [pdf]
       and Brochure [pdf]
    Chapter Contacts [pdf]
    Organization Contacts 10/05 [xls]
    The Byron Oberst Award
    Newsletters: Past Issues
    EHR Toolkit
    Educational Programs
    2007 Technology Learning Center
    Policy Statements
    Partnership for Policy Improvement
    HL7 EHR Info
    HL7 Peds Data Standards
    CCR FAQs and Brochure [pdf]
    CCR Statement of Support
    CMS' HIPAA Web Site
    EMR Frequently Asked Questions
    EMR Review Project
    EMR "Buddy List" (COCIT Members Only):
        By State     By Vendor
    Membership Info
    COCIT Leadership [pdf]
    Online Nominations Form
    What is Medical Informatics?
    Peds on Hand
    BiliTool Web
    NLM's PubMed
    AHRQ Nat'l Resource Ctr for HIT
    HIMSS 06 Speaker Presentations
    Clinical Informatics Wiki
    IAP Medical Informatics Chapter
    Excel-Based Growth Chart Tools
    Alliance for Pediatric Quality
    Meaningful Use Resources
First placed on the World Wide
Web (WWW): March 28, 1995

2009 Oberst Award Nomination Form [PDF]

The Byron B. Oberst Award is presented to a Fellow of the American Academy of Pediatrics (FAAP) who has made a significant contribution to the field of clinical information technology in one or more of the following areas:
  1. Improving pediatric clinical information systems;
  2. Educating child health professionals in the use of clinical information technology;
  3. Creating health policies that promote better use of pediatric clinical information systems.
The following materials about Byron Oberst were collected by 2008 recipient Kevin Johnson:
  1. Letter from October 8, 2008
  2. CV
  3. Computer Activities

2009 Recipient

2009 - Dr. Stephen Downs - slides

Past Recipients

2008 - Dr. Kevin Johnson
2007 - Dr. David Paperny
2006 - Dr. Richard Shiffman
2005 - Dr. Andy Spooner
2004 - Dr. Stuart Weinberg
2003 - No award given
2002 - No award given
2001 - No award given
2000 - Dr. Bill Zurhellen
1999 - No award given
1998 - No award given
1997 - No award given
1996 - No award given
1995 - No award given
1994 - Dr. Don Lighter
1993 - No award given
1992 - Dr. M. William Schwartz
1991 - Dr. James V. Lustig
1990 - Dr. Olle Jane Z. Sahler
1989 - Dr. Vincent Fulginiti